In 1892 the original Pembroke Technical and Ringsend Fisheries School was built by the Earl of Pembroke as a Fishery and Nautical School in Ringsend. Its motto was ‘PER MARE VIVIMUS – BY THE SEA WE LIVE’.
It was opened on Saturday 7th October 1893 and quickly became known as the ‘The Technical School’. And eventually from that becoming the Ringsend Technical Institute.
Throughout its years it has changed direction many times, as society changed and new opportunities presented themselves. First as a school for fishermen, then of automotive engineering, a trade’s school, then as a Matriculation centre, metalwork teacher training centre, a co-educational junior cycle and senior cycle, incorporating a major and hugely successful pre – University sector and night school. Recent years have seen the inclusion of adult education and FETAC programmes.
The foundation stone for the new school, on the current site, was laid on Friday 23rd March 1979 and the first cohort of students began in September 1980. The school was officially opened on 15th April 1983 by the then Taoiseach Dr. Garret Fitzgerald.
In 2011 the name of the school was changed from Ringsend Technical Institute to Ringsend College.
The college is still proudly and firmly based in the Ringsend and surrounding communities, to best serve their educational needs, by offering an inclusive, progressive, co-educational experience to the young people of Dublin South Inner City and further afield.
Ringsend College from the RTE Archives
Click here to watch An RTÉ News report broadcast on 15 April 1983. The reporter is Charlie Bird.Source: RTE Archives. The
Ringsend College Summer Video 2020
We’ve come to the end of the school year for 2020. Here’s a message from Principal Ryder along with footage